EDITING YOUR USER DATABASE

Entering and editing data
Entering and editing data in the custom user database is done through the File Detail view of the Data Viewer.  

When in the File Detail view, click on the “Update” button to enter the user database edit mode.

While in edit mode, the Viewer’s status display (lower left corner of the Viewer) will read “EDITING DATABASE” in red letters, and the current user database field – the field in which the edit cursor is currently located – will get a red background.

You can move the cursor between fields as needed either by clicking on the desired field with your mouse or by using the [Tab] key on your keyboard. As the cursor moves from field to field, the red background highlight will move with it.

Add, edit or delete text in each field as desired using your keyboard, mouse and standard text editing techniques.

Similar to Harbor’s configuration screen conventions, user data fields in the File Detail edit mode whose text has changed but not yet been saved to the database will have their text displayed in red characters once the highlight moves off that field. This can be used as an easy reminder of which fields have unsaved edits in them. Once the changes have either been saved or discarded, the text will return to its usual blue color.

 Fig. 19 shows a sample File Detail view in edit mode; the “Caption” field has been edited but not yet saved, and the edit cursor is currently in the “Players” field.

Edit mode buttons
There are two control buttons available in the user database edit mode: “Erase All” and “End Edit”.

“Erase All” clears all text from all five database fields for this audio file’s record.  This is a fast way of removing this file’s record from the user database (see below).

“End Edit” ends the edit mode and returns you to a normal File Detail display. If changes have been made to any of the editable data fields, Harbor will notify you and ask you to confirm if you want to save the changes.

Saving data to the database
If you confirm that the changes to the data should be saved, Harbor saves the record for that audio file in the user database. If you do not confirm so, any changes made to the data will be discarded.

When a record is saved in the user database in this way, whenever that file is listed in any Inventory Detail view, the existence of this saved record will be indicated by a “>>” symbol in the Inventory Detail's DB column for that file.

Deleting records from the database
The way to remove an audio file's record from the user database altogether is to display the File Detail for that file, go into edit mode, and click the “Erase All” button to remove all text from all database fields. Then click on “End Edit” to save this erasure. Anytime you “save” a user database record with no data in any of the fields, the record will be removed from the database.