|
EDITING PLAYLISTS Playlists displayed in the Playlist Detail display of the Playlist Editor can be edited on an individual track basis. With just one or two mouse clicks you can add, delete, replace, drag and drop, copy or paste tracks anywhere you desire in the playlist. Edit Status
Displays and Playlist info displays Whenever the
“Unsaved Edit” indicator is displayed, a red asterisk also appears
on the icon of the “Save List” button to indicate the current
version of the playlist has not yet been saved. When the new
changes to the playlist have been saved to disk, these indicators will
disappear. Also, any time a
playlist edit takes place, the “# of Tracks” and “Total Time”
fields for the playlist will also be automatically recalculated and
refreshed to reflect the changes. Creating a New Playlist If the currently
displayed playlist has been edited but not saved when you click the
“New Playlist” button, Harbor will pop up a warning message
indicating that your changes have not been saved, and give you a chance
to correct this situation if you wish. When you create
the new playlist, the name field of the Playlist Detail display will say
“New playlist…”. You
do not actually assign an actual filename for the playlist until you
save the new playlist file to disk. The track
information will show a blank track #1. Right-click on this empty track
to pop up the edit options menu. In this case the only option available
will be the “New Track” option. Select the “New
Track” option to add the first track to your new playlist. Moving Tracks
via Drag and Drop For example, if
you drag a song from track 5 onto track 3, the dragged song gets
inserted into track 3. The song that was at track 3 gets moved to track
4, and the song that was at track 4 fills in the newly blank spot in
track 5. Dragging and Dropping Into the
Playlist If a list of files is dragged from Explorer into the playlist – i.e. if more than one file was selected in Explorer when the drag was started – Harbor will drop the first file into the group and ignore the rest of the list. Pop Up Editing Only those edit
options which are relevant to the current click will be active;
irrelevant options will be grayed out.
For example, the Paste option will be inactive and grayed out
unless or until track information has been copied to the clipboard via
the “Copy” command. “Add/Insert”
– Use this option to add a new track to the playlist by inserting the
new track into the current playlist at the clicked position. Any tracks
on and below the clicked position will be moved down one position to
make room for the inserted one. Clicking this edit
option will pop up a standard file dialog box for browsing and selecting
the audio file you wish to add to the playlist. “Replace”
– This option works exactly like the “Add/Insert” option, except
rather than inserting the new track into the playlist, it will overwrite
the information in the clicked track with the information for the newly
selected audio file. “Copy”
– Clicking on the “Copy” edit option does not itself perform any
editing upon the playlist, but instead copies all the track information
for the clicked track to an invisible “clipboard”. Copying track
information to the clipboard activates the “Paste” edit option,
allowing you to paste another copy of the information into another track
of this playlist (if you want that audio file to play more than once in
the playlist), or even to paste that track into an entirely different
playlist later on.
“Paste”
– This edit option inserts the track info copied to the clipboard from
a “Copy” edit command into the clicked position. Any tracks on and
below the clicked position will be moved down one position to make room
for the inserted one. Tracks can be pasted from the clipboard
regardless of which playlist the copied information came from. This
allows you to copy tracks from one playlist to another. “Delete” – Deletes the
clicked track entry from the playlist.
Any tracks existing below the deleted track will be moved up one
in the playlist to fill the gap. This option deletes only the track entry itself; it does not delete the actual audio file associated with the playlist track entry. Saving an
Edited Playlist This dialog box
will by default display the drive and folder in which the currently
displayed playlist is located. You can save the
playlist under its original name or under a new name as a separate
playlist file. If you save it as a new file, Harbor will instantly add
it to your inventory database and update the name of the playlist file
at the top of the Playlist Detail display. Whenever an edited playlist is saved to disk, both the “UNSAVED EDIT” indicator on the Playlist Detail display and the red asterisk on the “Save Playlist” button will disappear, indicating that a copy of the currently displayed playlist is on file. Deleting
Playlists
|