THE PLAYLIST FILES LISTING AND PLAYLIST CONTROL

File Listing
The white display box at the top left of the Playlist Editor displays a clickable list of all the playlist files in your system inventory.

A single left-click on any of the playlist names will highlight that playlist name and display the contents of that playlist below in the Editor's Playlist Detail display for editing and/or playback.

When you launch or redisplay the Playlist Editor with a click from the Launcher window's Inventory Detail view, that file will be automatically highlighted and loaded in the Playlist Editor tool.

When you click the “Playlist Editor” button on the Launcher window to initially launch the Playlist Editor, the Editor defaults to highlighting and displaying the first playlist in your inventory. If the Editor was already running -- whether minimized or maximized -- the previously displayed playlist remains on display.

Playlist File Controls
The three buttons next to the Playlist Files listing are the main file controls for managing your playlist files.

These file control buttons are deactivated while the current playlist is actually playing.

“New Playlist” button – Creates a new blank playlist in the Playlist Detail editor.

 
“Save Playlist” button – Saves the currently displayed playlist detail either to the currently highlighted playlist file or to a new playlist file.

“Delete Playlist” button – Deletes the currently highlighted playlist file.


Loading Playlists Into the Playlist Detail display
When you launch or redisplay the Playlist Editor with a click from the Launcher window's Inventory Detail view, the clicked file will be automatically highlighted in the Playlist Files listing and displayed in the Playlist Detail view, ready for playback or editing. 

To load a different existing playlist into into the Playlist Detail display for playback or editing, find that file in the white Playlist Files list, and then highlight it by left-clicking on it. This will open the contents of that playlist file into the Detail display.

When loading a playlist into the Detail display, Harbor automatically analyzes each track in the playlist, searching for any invalid tracks – i.e. tracks containing audio files that has been corrupted, stored in an unsupported format, or otherwise rendered unplayable. If it finds such a track while the playlist is loading, Harbor will warn you with a pop up warning message letting you know which track contains the bad audio file.

This error checking is also done anytime the Playlist Editor tool is first being launched from the Launcher window, since there is a default playlist loaded into the Detail display when the tool comes up.

Creating a New Playlist
To “clear” the Playlist Detail display in order to create a new playlist from scratch, click the “New Playlist” button at the top of the window.

If the currently displayed playlist has been edited but not saved when you click the “New Playlist” button, Harbor will pop up a warning message indicating that your changes have not been saved, and give you a chance to correct this situation if you wish.

For more on creating and editing playlists, see the help section entitled "Editing Playlists".

Saving Playlists
To save the displayed playlist to disk, click the “Save Playlist” button at the top of the window to pop up a standard file dialog box in which you can choose the drive, folder and filename under which to save the playlist file.

This dialog box will by default display the drive and folder in which the currently displayed playlist is located.

You can save the playlist under its original name or under a new name as a separate playlist file. If you save it as a new file, Harbor will instantly add it to your inventory database as well.

For more on editing and saving playlists, see the help section entitled "Editing Playlists".

Deleting Playlists
If you wish to delete the currently displayed playlist, click the “Delete Playlist” button at the top of the window.

NOTE:  Deleting a playlist not only removes the playlist from your inventory, but also deletes the playlist file from your system completely.